jump to navigation

The Golden Ticket September 15th, 2005

Posted by alsotop in WordPress.
trackback

I’ve got a golden ticket, I’ve got a golden twinkle in my eye!

A while back, whilsy curiously scowering the internets, I stumbled upon WordPress’s latest venture, a hosted blogging service at WordPress.com. Of course, I couldn’t at least “register my interest” in what looked like a very interesting project, so I signed up my email address. And now, here I am, with my own WordPress.com “golden ticket” which has given me the opportunity to start my own hosted WordPress-powered weblog.

While right now, you could say I’m still suffering from the “omg! its new and cool” syndrome, this is looking to be one very groovy service. Of course, being a hosted service, there’s a little less power in your administration. And for obvious reasons to, for example, since WordPress themes could potentially have the power to affect the whole system, sicne they are essentially PHP files. And additionally, without so many “power user” controls, it makes the system much greater for newer users who aren’t going to install on their own hosts. The admin interface is very groovy, and testing the new features such as the WYSWYG post entry box is a really good bonus. I’ve tried other tools like this, but this one really does seem to work expertly well.

I’m now going to head on off and explore for the rest of the evening and find even more cool stuff, and hopefully, I’ll get back to it. I could very easily enjoy this!

Latest thoughts: (16/09/05) The WYSWIG interface is nice, but not yet perfect. I’m a bit miffed that I can’t use a style tag to change the margin properties for an image, since it eliminates the style attribute. And falling back on to hspace and vspace won’t work either – they’re exterminated. The 25mb of space is a good addition to the service, which has allowed me to upload some images to accompany my post. I miss the customisation of having plugins that added extra features to my weblog, but there are obvious reasons for their removal. It would be very nice if the themes had some primitive form of configuration to make small tweaks and changes to make the experience more customisable, but since this isn’t (yet) available under the current WordPress system, I shouldn’t expect it here. I still believe theme options may be a future possibility, especially if the success of Michael Heilemann’s latest theme in development, K2 has anything to do with it. Anyway, I’m still playing! 🙂

I’ve still got to come up with a better name than alsotop’s weblog, but I’m sure something will come to me later. And I’m also still deciding upon a theme to choose from the 8 available, although I really wouldn’t like to go with the two WordPress default themes. Finally, I’m not going to delete my “Hello World” post, since it’s just one of those nice cosy things that I can associate with WordPress and the beginning of the weblog.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

