jump to navigation

Pandora November 25th, 2005

Posted by alsotop in Music.
trackback

For over a year now, I’ve been using Last.fm, formally Audioscrobbler, to both track what I listen to, and also for it to recommend me new artists to listen to. Recently, I came across a service called Pandora, which also advertises itself as a music recommendation service, built upon the Music Genome Project. The MGP started over five years ago and has since categorised over 10,000 artists and their music based on many factors that uniquely make a song: melody, harmony and rhythm, to instrumentation, orchestration, arrangement, lyrics and much more. When you go to Pandora, you enter an artist or track you like, and it will suggest music which has similar musical properties. As far as me and my friends have been testing it, its been a really cool tool for discovering new music which we will actually enjoy because of how the music fits together. At the moment, the service is free (although soon to be ad-supported) and technically only available to US citizens (because of legal matters), although it is definitely not complicated to sign up with a phony ZIP code to get to Pandora’s brilliant service. If you’re looking for new music, I highly advise you to try out Pandora, as it has definitely given me a lot of new music to get into!

Comments»

1. tallglassofmilk - January 27th, 2006

I’m a Pandora newbie – discovered the site about a month ago. So far I’ve been very impressed with the musical selections it plays me based on what I want to hear. And very surprised with the obscure artists it seems to know about. It also seems to know why I like certain songs and/or gropus.

It’s fabulous. Although it can get monotonous if you don’t change your stations.

2. alsotop - January 27th, 2006

Hey, thanks for your comment. I completely agree with you – it has such an amazingly diverse amount of artists and tracks, sometimes I enter tracks I really doubt to be in the list and still find them, and then loads more that sound quite similar. But yes, you do have to change station ever so often in order to get more variance!


Leave a Reply

